Professor Heather Angus-Leppan – Programme Director

Programme Director

Professor Heather Angus-Leppan is a Consultant Neurologist and Epilepsy Lead at the Royal Free London NHS Foundation Trust. She is Honorary Associate Professor in the Department of Clinical and Movement Neurosciences, UCL Queen Square Institute of Neurology London, and National Lead for Stratified Medicine for Neurology for the Clinical Research Network.

Dr Sallie Baxendale

Dr Sallie Baxendale has worked on the epilepsy surgery programs at the Radcliffe Infirmary, Oxford and the National Hospital for Neurology & Neurosurgery London.

Professor Selim R. Benbadis

Dr. Benbadis is a French citizen, born in Paris. He obtained his MD at the University of Nice (Nice, France), where he completed a residency in Family Medicine.

Professor Martin Brodie

Professor Martin Brodie has directed the Epilepsy Unit in Glasgow, Scotland since 1981.

Professor Esther Bui

Dr. Esther Bui is a Neurologist – Clinician Educator and Assistant Professor at the University of Toronto

Professor Roberto Caraballo

Roberto Caraballo is currently Chair of the Department of Neurology at the Pediatric Hospital J.P. Garrahan in Buenos Aires, Argentina.

Dr. James Chamberlain

Dr. James Chamberlain is Professor of Pediatrics and Emergency Medicine, George Washington University.

Professor Helen Cross

Professor Helen Cross is The Prince of Wales's Chair of Childhood Epilepsy and Head of the Developmental Neuroscience Research and Teaching Department at UCL- Great Ormond Street Institute of Child Health, Honorary Consultant in Paediatric Neurology Great Ormond Street Hospital for Children NHS Foundation Trust, London and Young Epilepsy, Lingfield, UK.

Professor Orrin Devinsky

Professor Orrin Devinsky, M.D. is the Director of the NYU Comprehensive Epilepsy Center and the Saint Barnabas Institute of Neurology and Neurosurgery (INN).

Professor Anita Devlin

Dr Anita Devlin is a Consultant Paediatric Neurologist at Newcastle's Great North Children's Hospital and Associate Clinical Lecturer at Newcastle University.

Professor Robert Fisher

Dr. Fisher is Maslah Saul MD Professor and Director of the Stanford Epilepsy Center.

Dr Marian Galovic

Dr Marian Galovic is Head of the Epilepsy Unit at the University Hospital Zurich, Switzerland.

Professor Trish Greenhalgh

Trish Greenhalgh is an internationally recognised academic in primary health care and trained as a GP.

Professor Jane Hanna

Jane Hanna is the founder and CEO of SUDEP Action, an organisation which specialises in epilepsy and risk and supports the family and friends of those bereaved through epilepsy. She is a global advocate and expert on sudden unexpected death in epilepsy.

Professor Masud Husain

Professor Masud Husain is Professor of Neurology & Cognitive Neuroscience at the University of Oxford

Professor Reeta Kälviäinen

Reetta Kälviäinen is the Full Professor and Chair of Neurology in the University of Eastern Finland and the Director of the Kuopio Epilepsy Center in the Kuopio University Hospital.

Dr Andres Miguel Kanner

Andres M. Kanner MD, FANA, FAAN, FAES, is professor of clinical neurology, head of the Epilepsy Section, and director of the Comprehensive Epilepsy Center at the University of Miami, Miller School of Medicine

Professor Najib Kissani

Professor in Neurology is the Head of Neurology Department at the University Hospital Mohamed VI in Marrakech, Morocco.

Professor Troels Kjaer

Troels Kjaer is a licensed physician working in university hospital setting and as a professor of University of Copenhagen.

Dr Günter Krämer

Günter Kramer (*1952 in Germany) studied psychology (up until his pre-diploma examination) and medicine at Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz (Germany).

Dr Alice Lam

Alice Lam is an Assistant Professor of Neurology at Harvard Medical School and the Massachusetts General Hospital

Professor John Paul Leach

After qualifying in medicine from Glasgow, JP had several training posts in his native city, culminating in his MD thesis in 1997 on the pharmacology and mechanisms of action of the new antiepileptic drugs.

Professor Andrew McEvoy

Professor Andrew McEvoy is a world-leading consultant neurosurgeon at The National Hospital for Neurology and Neurosurgery (NHNN), and Institute of Neurology (ION) in London.

Dr Tejal Mitchell

Dr Tejal Mitchell completed medical and neurological training in London, and gained specialist training in epilepsy and EEG in Australia.

Kim Morley

Kim is a registered midwife, registered nurse, independent nurse prescriber and advanced clinical practitioner.

Professor Michael Privitera

Michael Privitera, MD, Professor of Neurology and Director of the Epilepsy Center at the UC Gardner Neuroscience Institute.

Dr Jay Salpekar

Dr. Jay Salpekar is the director of the Neuropsychiatry in Epilepsy Program at the Kennedy Krieger Institute, and is an Associate Professor of Psychiatry and Neurology at Johns Hopkins University Medical School.

Professor Ley Sander

Ley Sander is Professor of Neurology and Clinical Epilepsy and Honorary Consultant Neurologist with a specialist interest in epilepsy. In this role, he has approximately 1,200 people with epilepsy under his neurological care.

Professor Bettina Schmitz

Bettina Schmitz is head of the Department of Neurology and Center for Epilepsy at the Vivantes-Humboldt-Klinikum in Berlin. She holds a professorship in Neurology at the Charité, Humboldt University, Berlin, Germany.

Professor Rohit Shankar

Rohit Shankar is a Professor of Neuropsychiatry at the University of Plymouth Medical School and Director of it's Cornwall Intellectual Disability Equitable Research (CIDER) unit.

Professor Michael Sperling

Professor Sperling is the Baldwin Keyes Professor of Neurology and Vice Chairman for Clinical Affairs in the Department of Neurology at Thomas Jefferson University in Philadelphia, PA.

Professor Shakila Thangaratinam

Shakila Thangaratinam is a professor of maternal and perinatal health at University of Birmingham. As Consultant Obstetrician she is involved in the care of high-risk mothers at Birmingham Women's and Children's NHS Foundation Trust.

Professor Manuel Toledo

Professor Toledo is a neurologist affiliated to the Epilepsy Unit of Hospital Valle de Hebrón

Professor Torbjörn Tomson

Torbjörn Tomson is Professor of Neurology and Epileptology at the Department of Clinical Neuroscience, Karolinska Institutet, Stockholm, Sweden and head of the Epilepsy Section at the Department of Neurology at Karolinska University Hospital in Stockholm.

Professor Eugen Trinka, MD, MSc, FRCP

Dr. Eugen Trinka is currently Professor and Chairman of the Department of Neurology, Christian Doppler University Hospital at the Paracelsus Medical University, Salzburg, Austria. He is also Vice Director of the Christian Doppler University Hospital.

Dr Vicente Villanueva

Dr Vicente Villanueva is a neurologist at the Neurology Service in Hospital La Fe, Valencia, where he became a staff member in 2004.